Still Learning

January 12, 2010 Tanya
Tags:

Emma spent a couple of hours at school this morning and had a great time, but she always comes home tired.  I had her do a couple of activities, but now she is taking a break.  So, I decided to learn how to create a link in my blog post today.  I hope it works!

Last weekend we bought Emma a new dictionary and she is really enjoying it.  If you are able to click on the word dictionary, then it should take you to Amazon and show you a nice picture of it.  Did it work?  I hope so!  The book Charlotte’s Web has a lot of big words in it, so we are spending time each morning looking up words and writing down the definitions.  She gets bored with this activity fairly quickly, but she has noticed that it helps to know what those words mean when she comes to them in her reading.

This afternoon we will meet with Mrs. R and show her Emma’s work.  This will be the first time that we actually have a lot of work to go through with her.  I am very proud of what Emma has done and I think this will be a good meeting.

Entry Filed under: homeschooling

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathy  |  January 12, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    I clicked on the word dictionary and it took me to a picture of it on the Amazon web site with an offer for me to buy it for my Kindle:) Aren’t they kind.

  • 2. Kathleen Harrell  |  January 12, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    Something I started doing in 3rd grade, and still find myself doing, might or might not be of interest to you and Emma. When she finds a “quote” while reading that appeals to her, something she finds either profound or touching, she might want to copy it, along with the author and page number, in a little journal. I love looking back over my early quote books. I found myself memorizing many of them.

    • 3. tanyablanck  |  January 12, 2010 at 10:59 pm

      Thanks Kathleen. That does sounds like a fun idea.


Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blog Stats

Pages

Recent Posts

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other subscribers